“It’s the evidence of humans as ornaments”

Can you tell from the post title what song is stuck in my head?

Yep, “Meccamputechture” by The Mars Volta. And since it has the word “ornament” in there, it fits this time of year, right?

Anyway… yesterday, I met up with some people to shoot some scenes for a music video for the song “Ocean” off “The Final Scene,” and I want to thank some people for their help in making it happen.

Thanks to Ross Lyerly, who is directing, editing, working the camera, etc. I pretty much told him to look at it as this is his idea, his film, and my song is just the score. In other words, free reign on it. He was able to capture some very cool angles/shots.

He was assisted by James. (James, if you’re reading this, I apologize, but I don’t remember getting your last name.) He helped set up the lighting and scenes and pretty much anything that needed to happen behind the scenes. Thank you.

Landon Robinson was nice enough to let us use his house as the filming location. He has a very cool house. The architecture, both inside and out, is very interesting. It’s nice, and made for a great filming location. Thank you.

Since the song is “Ocean,” Ross wanted to have some artwork that was nautical-related, so thanks to Gloria and Jeremy Aitken (of Easy Kiddo) for providing those items. Gloria actually did a fantastic large chalk drawing of a ship at sea, and her mother had made an extremely nice wood-burning of a ship. They also had another ship that looked metallic and another wood-burning image that had some background color. Very cool stuff.

I’m not sure what’s up with my camera phone. I know it’s not great, but lines keep appearing in photos. I took a picture of the camera Ross was using (http://twitpic.com/3hkj3n) and there is a line in it. If you’re wondering, he has a Canon D7 and a couple of really nice lenses for it. It is a very nice piece of equipment.

On Saturday, I broke down and ordered a mini-theremin. It uses a photo cell to make noise, so it works off light (including things like laser pointers). I was on the phone with Adam Davila (of Hail the Titans) and he told me to go to XLPCTheremin.com. That guy makes some cool stuff. So that should be here soon, and I’ll be able to make more noise.

I went to Applebee’s yesterday. Normally, I’m not a fan of big chain restaurants. I mean, I guess they are OK, but if you want real food, you usually have to find the local, hole-in-the-wall establishment. But I have to give credit where it’s due. On the Applebee’s menu, they have a roast beef sandwich that is really, really good. Really. It’s like pot roast (as opposed to deli-thin-cut style) sitting on some jalapeño coleslaw and topped with fried onion straws with a little barbecue sauce. Good stuff.

Reminder: Hail the Titans is playing with Hellakopta of Love tomorrow night at the Alley Bar in downtown Montgomery. Happy Hour drink specials (I’ve been told $1 beer and $2 wells) until 7 p.m. so get there early. The music will start at 7 p.m. It’s an early show, so be there early because you probably have to work on Wednesday, too.

One thought on ““It’s the evidence of humans as ornaments”

  1. Pingback: New Music Video! | josh carples

Leave a Reply

