Analyzing comment SPAM

Hail the TitansIndieGoGo campaign is currently up to $1,395! That’s $95 over our goal! Thank you to everyone who has donated so far and helped spread the word about it. If you’re interested in getting any of the special perks we’re offering, you’ve got a week left!

Speaking of our IndieGoGo campaign, there is a comment section, and this morning we received our very first SPAM comment. I don’t know if IndieGoGo will delete it at some point, but I plan to leave it there, as well as analyze it here. I’ll post the SPAM in bold to distinguish it from my comments.

Hello dear, the pleasure is mine to come across your profile today. Oh, how sweet. And they called us “dear.”

hope you re (sic) doing fine? Why capitalize the first word of the new sentence? That’s so archaic. And why not make that a question, rather than the statement it should have been? And I’m wondering if they meant “you’re” or “you are”…. hmm…

anyway i just want to ask you for friendship. Oh, how nice. To be fair, we were asking for more than friendship – we need money. Still could use some, actually. But hey! Friendship!

i believe distance will never be a problem for us. Will you look at that?! Not even a first date and already talking about a long-distance relationship! I’m… I’m just not sure that I’m ready.

i will like you to contact me with my private Email (they found the “shift” key!) to enable me send my fotos (sic) to you and also tell you more about myself. You can’t imagine my level of interest now. I mean, they want to send me “fotos.” “Fotos!”

this is my private Email (yea! “shift” key!) address.

And to not keep you in suspense, this is the email they listed: silverline68@yahoo.com.

So there you go. Looking for some “fotos” or to get to know someone? Done. This stuff reminds me of a website you should check out, if you haven’t done so already: 419eater.com. It’s the best site I know of for scambaiting.

Fotos!

One thought on “Analyzing comment SPAM

  1. Pingback: “Dear customer!” | josh carples

Leave a Reply

