Thank you, Dothan

Last night, I had the opportunity to perform some of my solo material at The Featured Players Theatre in Dothan, Ala.

I like that place. It’s true community theater. The seats are old couches and living room chairs. There is a stage, painted black, and some lighting. It has that DIY – “we do this because we love it” – vibe to it, and I think that’s awesome.

I performed my set between performances by Richard Cass and Bobby Hill.

Richard is in a band called “Volunteer Cass,” from Atlanta. He performed the songs solo last night, but if you want to hear the band version (and you should), go to their Bandcamp page. Click here.

Bobby is a Dothan native. He has been in bands over the years such as Hadji and the Turbans and For the Birds. Unfortunately, I never got to see either of the bands, but I have had the pleasure of catching two of his solo performances now. He is a great singer/songwriter, and was also kind enough to offer a place to crash while in Dothan.

It was a good night for music, and the people there were very supportive and complimentary. To the people who purchased CDs from me, thank you. I hope you enjoy them.

To add some odd and random “stories from the road” type stuff, um… have you ever been at a bar with friends and had a stranger tell you to go hit on his wife? Because now I have. It was a bit odd and funny all at the same time.

Oh, and my friends Selene and Hillary made some epic burgers today:

#EpicBurger on Twitpic

Cheddar cheese, bacon, jalapenos, lettuce, tomato and Sriracha sauce. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

