More ramblings

When the word “ramblings” popped into my head, I thought it sounded familiar in terms of this blog, and I was right – specifically a post on Dec. 1, 2010 and April 28, 2011.

That aside, for some reason philosophy has been at the forefront of my thinking for the past few weeks. I’ve had some great conversation about modernism and post-modernism, how we perceive things – objective vs. subjective – and the way those philosophical thought processes involve religions.

Your eyes may have glossed over by now, and if so, that’s OK. I suppose what fascinates some bores others to tears.

But one thing that I was thinking tonight seemed somehow related to the post-modern line of subjectivity. We question and we question and we question, and those questions lead to more questions. There seems to be an absence of answers.

I assume that leads to areas of psychology, neurology and possibly biology as well, at least in regards to ever-evolving treatments and advancements in science, but in more simplistic terms, I’m often left wondering why people do the things they do, or why they say certain things, or act certain ways.

And I think about these things in terms of social interactions, friendships, relationships – “over think” may be the more appropriate phrase – and there are so many possibilities, but you still never know.

Even if one day, you were to get an explanation, could you trust that it was an honest one?

And at the end of the day, why does any of this affect us one way or the other? Or is it our fault for allowing it to affect us? Or do we even have a choice in the matter?

So I get this far, and this blog post merely scratches the surface, but the absence of answers and the abundance of questions hasn’t changed. So we are, or at least I am (in following a subjective line of reasoning), left in a perpetual state of not knowing, and not being able to know.

Leave a Reply

