‘Ghost of a Tour’ Thank you’s!

“Ghost of a Tour” was a lot of fun. I hope you’re enjoying the new album, Ghost of a Town, and I’d like to take a moment to thank those who made this tour so much fun. (I get a bit nervous doing this because I’m always afraid of leaving out a name… if that happens, please know it’s accidental, accept my apologies, and allow me to blame a lack of sufficient coffee.)

Of course, I appreciate each and every person who came out to the shows or took time to review the album or help promote. Also, thanks to those who gave me food and/or a place to stay. I greatly appreciate your generosity and hospitality.

I’ll link to bands, venues, organizations below – generally to their Facebook pages – and I encourage you to visit them, click ‘Like,’ and keep up with what they have going on.

Jubilee Community Center, Montgomery, AL.

Day 1, Montgomery, AL – Thanks to Helicity Montgomery for sponsoring the album release show at such a beautiful venue – the Jubilee Community Center. And thanks to Andrew Lewis for filling it at the last minute.

Day 2, Gadsden, AL – Thanks to Artifacts for hosting me and being a great independent record store. (Ps – your town has great beer: Back Forty.) Earlier in the day, I was interviewed for The Jiggly Room radio program. Thanks to Jason Snellgrove (writer/director of Gut Munchers) for that.

Day 3, McCalla, AL – This was a private party where I got to pull triple duty – a solo acoustic set, a set with The Fall of Adam, and a set with Hail the Titans. Also check out The Secret Midnight Band from Birmingham. Nice guys, good music.

Day 4, Carrollton, GA – I’ve always had fun playing at the Alley Cat. They’ve got great food and a very nice, welcoming staff. And the people who hang out there have always been great. This was night one with my friends R_Garcia (who is currently taking pre-orders for their new album Demons to Diamonds via IndieGoGo; they’re good, and you’ll want this.) Good to see the Electric Nature boys as well. (Also, many thanks to Squared Magazine for the great review of Hail the Titans’ ‘fig.‘ EP. That was a nice, unexpected surprise.)

Day 5 – Atlanta, GA – Many thanks to WonderRoot for hosting this Monday night show, and to R_Garcia for setting it up and performing. This show also included the debut performance by Dear Woodland Creatures, the wonderful new solo project from Josh Washburn (Nigredo guitarist.)

Day 6 – TN (Tullahoma and Franklin)The Celtic Cup Coffee House in Tullahoma has a friendly staff, great food and coffe and Bailey’s Irish Cream Cheesecake (yes, you read that right, and yes, it’s that good. See: exhibit A.) I highly recommend this place.

After my performance there, I headed up to Franklin, outside of Nashville, to Kimbro’s Cafe ‘a pickin’ parlor.’ They’ve got a songwriter’s night on Tuesdays, so I figured I’d check it out. They had a ‘featured act’ from 7-8 pm and then it opened up to other performers. The featured act was Penny and Sparrow, an acoustic duo from Austin, TX that was great. I performed three songs here – “Ghost of a Town,” “Ocean” and “Painted Disasters.” The Kimbro’s crowd and staff were very friendly and welcoming. If you’re in the Franklin area, stop by this place.

Day 7 – Huntsville, AL – I got to see and share the stage with my long-time friend Mike Slaten. We played at Humphrey’s Bar and Grill, and we both recommend the bacon cheeseburger. (It’s really good.) This area of Alabama also has some great beer and local breweries, and you can find your beer selection heaven at a place in Madison called “Wish You Were Beer.” Also, Mike and I stopped by the WLRH radio station prior to the show to talk with Brad Posey of The Invisible City. Thanks to Brad for the interview and the kind words about Hail the Titans.

Day 8 – Birmingham, AL – The final night of the tour was my first performance at Rojo. I’ve eaten and hung out there a number of times and even had a [failed] attempt at getting them to name a dish after me – see the original post and the follow-up post for information on that. This was a great end to the tour – great crowd (including some of my Five Shot Jack friends), great food and great atmosphere. Thanks to Lindsay Garrett (Show Pony Productions) for helping out (and doing my promo photos) and to the Rojo owners and staff for their kindness and support.

Leave a Reply

