Happy 2016!

1516560_442319965971360_2109263165_nI ended 2015 with hate… times eight. I saw The Hateful Eight on New Year’s Eve in “glorious 70mm.”

Anyone who knows me knows that I am a big Quentin Tarantino fan, and yes, I admit that I read the script when it leaked, and I loved it. Even though I went in knowing some of the spoilers from the script, I thought the film was great.

The way it was shot, the dialogue, the acting, the scenery, and especially the “Road Show” version that started with an overture, included an intermission and a printed program and film strip.

I was in fanboy mode.

I have actually had three musical projects whose names were inspired by Tarantino films: Marsellus (Marsellus Wallace from Pulp Fiction), Easy Kiddo (inspired by Beatrix Kiddo from Kill Bill), and my film score project Glorious 70mm (inspired from the leaked script for The Hateful Eight.)

The first Glorious 70mm EP has three songs, each title taken from the leaked script (the chapter titles in the final film, other than track 3 “Last Stage to Red Rock,” are different.)

This EP, like the other music from this project, allows you to name your price, so if you’ve got a couple of bucks, it’ll really help me out as I begin film festival submissions for a new short film that was recently completed. (More on that soon.)

So I encourage you to check out The Hateful Eight (and get the movie theater experience) and hear some music from me that was inspired by the script.

 

Happy New Year! #light #2016 #findthebeautyintheworld

A post shared by Josh Carples (@joshcarples) on

Leave a Reply

