BFF on the news…

My mother recorded a recent newscast on her DVR and made sure to save it until I could see it. Not giving anything away, she told me she had something she wanted me to see and asked, “Do you have time now?”

“Sure,” I said, as she loaded the program and hit the play button.

On the local news, they were talking about a Black Film Festival being held at Alabama State University, and there in the background was a scene from Best Friends Forever (The Love and Crimes of Tiye Ra and Corey) by my friend, writer/director C. DeWayne Cunningham of Carolyn Jean’s Son Visions. Specifically, it was the scene of me in the role of “Daniel Andre Wilson” standing over a handrail talking to the main two characters.

I said, “Woah… hey… I’m on TV.” It was quite surprising. And then the next part showed a portion of the scene of Ebony Jones as “Tiye Ra” dragging a body on the ground.

Nice surprise. Thanks to my mom for catching that for us.

Oh, and speaking of Ebony, she made the news again. There is a scene in the film with her boxing in a ring, but what you may not know is that she’s really a boxer. Another news agency ran a story about her. See it here.

Hey @ibetheshooter, we made the news. #BFFcjsv

A post shared by Josh Carples (@joshcarples) on

Leave a Reply

