Que sera, Sarahah

Per some perusing of social media lately, the new website and app Sarahah seems to be somewhat polarizing – some people are liking it, while some people are slamming it as cowardly, urging people to say things directly to other people, instead of anonymously.

(I say “somewhat polarizing” because some of the comments under these posts are more in the “What the hell is it?” category. If you’re wondering, the word “sarahah” is Arabic, apparently, synonymous with candor, openness, frankness, honesty.)

Either way, I signed up recently, fully expecting jokes and a decent amount of hate mail. So I admit that I was surprised to get some very nice, encouraging, and heart-felt messages from people. Who are these people? Well, since the site allows anonymous messages, I have no idea.

One of the more funny/lighthearted ones:

“I’d toast your almonds you sweet cream muffin!”

And then there’s this one:

“I think you’re too good for this desperate please show me attention app…”

And there are others that are lengthier and heart-felt (and thank you to those who have posted those. I do appreciate your messages and encouragement very much.) I’m not going to post them all here or anything, and again, I have no idea who is behind these messages, but I received one I’d like to address:

“I’m in awe of your creative drive. Makes me wish I hadn’t given up.”

If the person that left this is reading this blog post, I want to say two things:

First, thank you. Second, it’s not too late to start back.

I don’t know what creative outlet you gave up on, whether music, film, painting, writing, or something else. But you can start up again. Write. Record. Play. Direct. Film. Edit. Produce. Practice. Act. Whatever it is, and whatever quantity you can give time for it – 5, 10, 30 minutes, an hour – do it.

The world can always use more art. Let that creativity start up again. Feed it. Nurture it. Grow it. And share it with us. Be encouraged.

For anyone else, if you want to tell me something anonymously, feel free: joshcarples.sarahah.com. Or if you prefer to tell me things directly, use the “Contact” page on this website, or hit me up on my social media accounts. Either way, thanks for reading. Much love.

Leave a Reply

