#Charlottesville

Sometimes, there are so many things I want to say, but I question whether it’s my voice that needs to be heard. I question whether I have anything to contribute that has not already been said, probably much more eloquently or with more depth.

I try to listen more than I speak. I also try to communicate clearly and authentically. I try to write and speak from reasoned logic and kindness instead of anger.

But I’m angry. There are things in this world that I don’t understand, and quite frankly, I don’t want to understand.

It’s fucking 2017 and there are nazi pieces of shit walking in the streets with goddamn tiki torches. What. The. Fuck?! Don’t like my language? Too bad. There is a place for righteous anger and cursing for emphasis, and if stupid fucking nazis and related white supremacist assholes causing riots and using vehicles as weapons in American streets in 2017 isn’t it, then I don’t know what the fuck it might be.

I feel anger. I feel sorrow. I feel helpless.

I teared up watching the Vice News episode on this horror. (And damn, it’s hard to imagine the Vice crew having to hang out and be face-to-face with those nazi shit stains for this story…) Watch it. Look at these hateful fucks. Use it as a teaching tool to make sure the next generation doesn’t end up lost in more hateful ignorance.

I generally try to understand motives. But I don’t understand this kind of hatred, and quite honestly, I’m glad I don’t understand it. I really don’t want to understand it. I don’t want to understand that level of ignorance. I don’t want to understand that level of hatred. I don’t want to understand why someone would embrace those ideals.

I love the fact that I have friends from different races and cultures and beliefs and backgrounds. I’m happy to see love and acceptance from good people who know and embrace ideals of empathy, understanding, equality, and diversity. I want to be around good, genuine, accepting, loving people. And I want to be those things myself.

I want to see and support the agents of positive change. I want to lend my voice, as little as it might be in the grand scheme of things, to positive change, to progress, to empathy, to encouragement, to better days.

So let me be perfectly crystal clear: if you are a white supremacist of any shape or form and you happen to follow me on social media or have sneaked your way onto my “friends” list – delete me. Seriously. I don’t want that kind of bullshit in my life.

Leave a Reply

